Sharing Time 2012- May Week 4: When I take the sacrament I renew my baptismal covenants.

Thoughts:  I like to emphasize real action that kids can make to change their lives.  Maybe because as an adult I crave a practical application to my worship on Sunday.  I don’t want to just learn something I want to try to become someone like Jesus Christ.

Identify Doctrine: I wanted to have the kids find where the sacrament  prayers (Doctrine and Covenants 20:77, 79)  are located in their scriptures.  I also wanted to have the children read the prayers on the word strips provided in the outline and have them put them together in the right order.

Encourage Understanding: For the last part of the lesson I really wanted to emphasize on what it means to take the name of Jesus Christ upon ourselves.  I want to have a discussion about what it means to be like Jesus.  I really want to steer it away from the rote answers and try to dive into more original ideas.  I really do think that children know how they can be more likes Jesus but we often put the whole idea into a very small rhetorical box.  I think I am going to try to not plan this part too much.  I am going to share a personal example and other  than that I will try to seek the spirit and try to wait for the silence for the children to have time to think.

I think that I need to more often in my lesson allow their hearts to be edified and touched by truth.

Leave a Reply

