Sharing Time- July Week 3: Reverence is deep respect and love toward God.

Jessica F.

 

Thoughts:  In my experience in primary too often the lesson on reverence turns into something that is not reverence, but obedience to the rules of the primary.  I do think that sitting still is a great gift, but often I think that we teach primary in an antiquated way.  We teach primary like we teach school, and I think that we can do better.  I want to focus on reverence being a love the stillness (not silence). In a world that is so busy and loud we should teach ourselves and our children to like the stillness of the world, and provide them with opportunities to find that peace, and there they will ponder the love of God.

 

Identify Doctrine:  I want to use the following scriptures

  1. “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.”–Matthew 11:28
  2. “The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake..”–Psalms 23:1-3
  3. “The whole earth is at rest, and is quiet: they break forth into singing.”–Isaiah 14:7
  4. He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm. — Mark 4:39

Encourage Understanding: As a group I want to discuss with the kids what the scriptures mean.  I want to do this by first reading them out loud and playing a drawing game.  I want to take each scripture and pick children at random to help me draw the picture so that they can bring to life the scripture, and to focus on how it would feel to be still.

Activity: Have the children play freeze dancing.  Have the pianist play music and when it stops have the kids stop dancing and freeze.  During the freezing portion say a quick verse about how much they are loved by God.  This I was planning on taking from the scripts and General Conference talks.  Have them focus on how it feels different to be still and how it feels to move.  Explain how it is important to use our bodies and be active and that it is also important to be still and feel how much God loves them personally.

 

 

One thought on “Sharing Time- July Week 3: Reverence is deep respect and love toward God.

  1. Thhank you so much for such a beautiful thought – I love the focus on stillness – it brings to my mind a much more of an “experience” with the spirit that simply the “act” of being quiet.

Leave a Reply

